After Harry…

IMG_0929It’s been what – two or three years ago – when the Harry Potter series ended? Back then, I could hardly put and keep the seven books inside my shelf for fear that I might forget all the magic and adventures that Harry and J.K. Rowling showed me. I even thought I’d lose my taste for reading after I closed the shelf door. But nay! Harry’s ending only put a hole in my life that I needed to fill. The adventures he and I took the last five years of my life (yes, I started reading after the fifth movie installment was released) were so vivid in my mind that I wanted to relive and experience it again.

I like reading. I have read a number of books before Harry. However, my passion for reading developed only after I read JK Rowling’s epic series. It made me excited to turn to the next page and my breath on hold every time a book was to end. Also, waiting for the next book to be published had me in an orgasmic anticipation. Those were the things I wanted to experience again.

So I searched online – reading recommendations from bloggers and book reviewers. I scoured the bookstore – reading the synopses of every book of which covers piqued my interest. I even took the advice of a friend to read a vampire series (cough tw**ight cough) only to be disgusted and forever be annoyed of a mythological being I was once very curious of.

So I thought no more series for me. I looked back inside my bookshelf and saw books I owned prior to Harry. I owned novels written by Rice, Stine, Sheldon and Brown. I must admit I read only novels of authors I know and I thought I needed new names in my collection. Honestly, the authors I know write mostly dark materials. I needed new authors who write at least light and funny slices of life, if not happily-ever-after-fantastical stories. Thankfully my uncle gave me a book gift. It was a bit of a tear jerker – P.S. I Love You – not the light and funny slice of life I was hoping for but it did introduce me to a new author, Cecelia Ahern.

From thereon I was introduced to several female writers who write fabulous chick lits. I honestly didn’t know the term “chick lit” until I googled it and learned that it’s a genre fiction which addresses issues of modern womanhood, often humorously and light-heartedly (source: Wikipedia).

My first female author was Cecelia Ahern. I liked P.S. I Love You but I fell truly, madly, deeply in love with her when I read Love, Rosie. Then I was introduced to Sophie Kinsela and to her funniest novel entitled Can You Keep A Secret?, to Jodi Picoult and her heart wrenching novel – My Sister’s Keeper, to Ann Brashare and the undying love depicted in My Name is Memory, to Jill Mansen and her novel – An Offer You Can’t Refuse, and to several others that I will not name anymore.

But if you think that I just read chick lits now, then you are wrong. When it comes to reading, I will forever be a little girl. I will forever enjoy reading happily-ever-after-fantastical stories. And actually, it didn’t take that long for me to move on after I turned the last page of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. A couple of months after Harry and some chick lits, I learned about Percy Jackson and the Olympians, authored by Rick Riordan. Said series revolved around the life of Perseus Jackson, a demigod of the new generation. The series started off with The Lightning Thief, followed by Sea of Monsters, The Titan’s Curse, The Battle of the Labyrinth and ended with The Last Olympian.

If Harry’s world was about wizardry and magic, Perseus or Percy’s world was about Olympian gods, deities, monsters, legends and heroes. It was pretty much the same as Harry’s. The setting may be a lot different but the concept is pretty much the same – the journey of one lad about self discovery, his role in the world and his friendships.

Though we learned cool magical stuff with Harry, there’s actually a lot more learning with Perseus. It’s been a while since I graduated and I was so eager to relearn mythology – Greek and Roman. There were so much I didn’t know and reading Percy’s books had me curious that I started reading serious Greek mythology books. I say it’s FUN, believe me!!!

Anyways, Percy Jackson and the Olympians ended last 2009. I thought it would be a Harry-ended-what-will-I-read-now syndrome for me again. But no! I went back to reading chick lits. I also learned to read dystopian novels and stories about fallen angels. On 2010, I felt so giddy when I learned that the second series about Percy Jackson was launched – Heroes of Olympus. As of date, I have read book three and I can’t wait for the fall season of 2013 when the last book of the second series is to be published.

I now look forward to finishing Heroes of Olympus or any series that I will love. I can now store them inside my bookshelf quietly and unhesitatingly. There are so much more stories and books out there. I may find a new Harry or a new Percy one of these days again.

15 thoughts on “After Harry…

  1. You might try the Underland Chronicles by Suzanne Collins and the Pendragon series by D. J. MacHale. I don’t know if they can completely fill the void left by Harry but they are quite enjoyable.

  2. I’m not allowed to read chick lit. But i sure do love Percy Jackson and Harry Potter!! Have you read the Princess Diaries? It’s chick lit and its infamous. My elder sister is crazy about it… I’m not allowed to read, of course. Humph.
    Nice post, by the way!! 🙂

      • The books and the movies are not the same. Not by a long shot. You should try the books. I think they are really awesome, after hearing my sis rant about them always.

        Um… you could say that I’m a minor. I’m just thirteen, you see. 🙂

        No. Are they as good as the Percy Jackson/ heroes of Olympus series?

      • ah really… then i need to read the books. i’ll include it in my 2013 must read list.

        hmm… so you’re really young. not quite ready for chick lit.

        in my opinion, kane chronicles is fun, quite interesting like percy. it’s about egyptian mythology. i had a limited knowledge about it but after kane chronicles, i now have a better knowledge about horus, osiris, isis and the jackal god of the funeral.

        i recommend you to read it since it’s a story told by the two main characters and one is just about your age. 🙂

      • 🙂 by the way, its written by Meg Cabot. I don’t know if there are other books called Princess diaries, but just in case. 😉
        I have no idea who horus, osiris or isis are…I think i’ll try Kane’s chronicles…thanks for the idea!

      • i read meg cabot’s website and the novel was really the disney movie. and the novel is actually a series… 16 books in total. i think the two disney movies compose of several books, not just one.

        i have heard of isis and horus prior to reading kane chronicles. but just heard the names and about being deities of egypt but i’ve no idea really… kane chronicles taught me 🙂

      • that’s true.
        But, the two movies are not like the books, especially the second one. The happenings in the movies don’t correlate with those of the books. Looking at it in that way, the books are better. And, I think there are only 10 books in total…

      • meg said she wrote sixteen books. only 3 were published and after the movie rights were bought by disney all 16 were published.

        i think book versions are always better than the movie versions. like harry potter and percy jackson.

Leave a Reply

