First meme of the year… 50 Questions About Anime and Me…

50questions

Since my appetite for anime is in full swing nowadays, I picked this meme up from Shiizumi. Let me see if I can answer all 50 questions with ease. I hope not to over think and give straight to the point but still insightful answers. Here it goes…

01.    Who is your favorite male anime character?

There’s so many but I am going to give my top 3. First are the Asaba twins – Yuki and Yuta. I am counting them as one. They are the most eccentric close to real life anime characters I’ve seen in my entire anime fandom life. Watching them reminded me of my school days and the boisterous, cool and handsome young men of my younger years.

asaba twins

Second is Natsume Takashi. He’s so fragile and so mysterious at the same time. I like his demeanour and his banters with Nyanko-sensei. I also like his friendship with Natori Shuuichi bordering shounen-ai. I don’t know if I am the only person who sees it but there’s that weird bond between them.

natsume

Third and the most favorite as of the moment is Wataya Arata. Yes, he has not received the proper airtime or panel-times in both the anime and manga yet. But he has the prince charming qualities that would make anyone swoon head over heels for him. His quiet personality makes him more interesting for me. Unlike his rival in the story, he is calm, practical and he actually can inspire others to be the best versions of their selves… Plus, his seiyu’s voice is so attractive.

arata

02.    Who is your favorite female anime character?

There are so many female characters I like but no one came close to being favorite. Why? Coz I don’t like damsels in distress. I know that there are so many out there who were heroines in their stories but in the end they still got to be rescued by the heroes. Should there be one top female character on my list of likables, then it would be Sophie from Howl’s Moving Castle. She rescued Howl, right?

03.    What is your favorite anime soundtrack?

I like the OSTS of the movies 5 Centimeters Per Second and Toki Wo Kakeru Shoujo (The Girl Who Leapt Through Time).

04.    What is your favorite anime opening?

Chihayafuru Season 1’s Youthful.

05.    What is your favorite anime closing?

My all time favorite will be Voltes V’s Chi Chi Wo Motomete. That song just melts me to bits and pieces. And then there’s my newest favorite from Kimi To Boku – Nakimushi.

06.    What is your favorite anime scene?

It’s from Bokura Ga Ita – when Yano said to Nanami: “My past won’t change. That’s why we need to make my past pale in comparison to our present.” This I think was the most sincere I’ve heard from an anime character.

bokuragaita

07.    If you could meet any anime character, who would it be?

The Kimi To Boku boys. I want to banter with them. I think I would’ve had the best time in school if I was surrounded by the likes of them.

kimitoboku

08.    What anime character is most similar to you in terms of personality?

I am very much like Fuwa Aika from Zetsuen no Tempest. I am not a siren like her but her personality is pretty much the same like mine. I am too practical, strategic and a bit of a cynic. I am pretty opinionated bordering to blunt.

fuwaaika

09.    What is your favorite thing about anime?

It’s pretty entertaining. I really like seeing characters beautifully drawn. Back drafts that are so beautiful they seem to be real. Catchy soundtracks, that even if I don’t understand the lyrics unless there are subtitles, I still get to memorize. And most importantly, I like the remarkable stories that can only be told through this medium.

10.    What is your least favorite thing about anime?

What I hate about it are lame, wimpy heroes like Ikari Shinji of Evangelion.

11.    Who are your favorite anime couple?

Sawako and Shouta from Kimi no Todoke. They’re so cute. And there’s Chizuru and Masaki of Kimi to Boku though it’s a one way love affair for Chizuru. But my all time favorite would be Ichigo and Rukia from Bleach. They better get together before the Bleach story ends completely.

ichiruki

12.    Who is your favorite anime animal?

No doubt it’s Nyanko-sensei from Natsume Yuujinchou. You’ll never get to see a cat that turns to a huge demon wolf. Not only that, he’s got one heck of a personality when he’s in cat form. I just adore him.

13.    What anime would make a good game?

I don’t know. I am not a game person.

14.    What game would make a good anime?

Not a game person… ^,^

15.    What was the first anime you ever watched?

Darn! Do I have to answer this? My age would surely be revealed. Hahaha! The very first anime I saw would be Astroboy aired by a local government-owned channel and English dubbed.

16.    Do you think you’ll ever stop watching anime?

I don’t think so. I am at an age that I should be doing more adult stuff already but I still can’t seem to stop this fandom that started way back when I was really, really young. I am not saying that anime are for kids or teenagers only. But I think most of people at my age do something more matured stuffs. I am not saying that anime is for immature people but… Oh forget about it. I am not going to stop watching. Not in the most foreseeable future, my friends.

17.    What is your favorite genre of anime?

Slice of life and romance. I am a hopeless romantic, you know. I also enjoy comedy.

18.    What is your least favorite genre of anime?

Sci-fi and game. Though I think Chihayafuru is under this genre… Hmm… Maybe I need to be specific. I don’t like stories about games doubled with fantasy.

19.    Are you open about watching anime with people you know?

I prefer watching alone. But I would like people I know to watch anime on their own time as well.  And then we’ll just meet and discuss.

20.    Have you ever been to Japan?

Nope. I really did not wish to go there. Never thought about it. But if the opportunity arises, why not go, right?

21.    What anime is the biggest let down for you?

Evangelion!!! Darn! Enough said… 😡

22.    What anime was better than expected?

Hyouka. I thought it would be boring coz Houtarou seemed to be bored and lazy. But he’s actually very smart and interesting.

houtarou

23.    What is the best anime fight scene?

All of Himura Kenshin’s fight scenes using Hitten Mitsurugi.

24.    Who is your anime waifu?

Kuchiki Rukia ♥

rukia

25.    What is your favorite video game as a child?

Super Mario. Hahaha! There goes my age.

26.    Most embarrassing moment?

Answering question no. 25. Hahaha!

27.    Can you drive?

Sort of. I drive my wheelchair. 😛

28.    Are you mature?

Most of the time.

29.    What year were you born?

Golden Monkey.

30.    Do you prefer cats or dogs?

Dogs. I have two Lhasa Apsos. The girl is named Saya and the boy is named Satoshi.

31.    Describe yourself physically.

I have a fair complexion. I have almond shaped eyes. I have a mole on my right cheek and another one on the corner of my left brow. I sport a really short hair for a girl. I now wear red eyeglasses. And most importantly, I use a wheelchair to move around.

32.    What would you name your first child?

Should I have a child I want to name him Robin Adrien Mathieu or her Robyn Adrienne Simone.

33.    What is the worst injury you ever had?

Not really an injury but I have a congenital deformity. Let’s not talk about it anymore.

34.    What is your worst habit?

Procrastination.

35.    Do you drink or smoke?

Never smoking. I hate it. I drink occasionally but never got drunk before. Never let myself get drunk.

36.    Do you have a tattoo?

I don’t like ink on skin.

37.    Are you a morning person or a night person?

Morning person. I prefer resting at night.

38.    Have you ever slept past midday?

Yep. After the board exams I slept until 3PM. Taking licensure examinations is stressful and can suck out the energy off of you.

39.    Do you regret anything?

Of course, I wouldn’t have strived harder if I didn’t have anything I regret and needed to redo.

40.    Can you count the number of friends you have on one hand?

Nope. I have many close friends even if my social life is all about social network life. Hahaha! But believe me. I have many close friends from yesteryears that I still get to see and spend quality time up to today.

41.    Do you wear glasses?

Did I not say that I do? I wear read spectacles.

42.    Are you a picky eater?

Yes, I am. My mom said it’s so hard to cook for me. My friends said that I am difficult to invite to food trips and eat all you can buffets coz I don’t get to enjoy much the money I spend for such.

43.    Would you die for someone?

If it’s my mom, YES (without batting an eyelash).

44.    If you could have any superpower, what would it be?

I want Jean Grey’s telepathy and telekinesis abilities.

45.    Do you believe in the supernatural?

Sometimes.

46.    Would you rather be rich or famous?

Rich and then I can be famous after. Money makes everyone famous.

47.    Have you ever committed a crime?

Yes… I frequent certain sites just to do it… NOPE! Nothing s**ual!

48.    Time traveller or ghost?

Time traveller. I want to go back in time and see history with my own eyes.

49.    Does someone have a crush on you?

I don’t think so. I am pretty ordinary and geeky.

50.    Are you in a relationship?

Nope. Not in a long while.

There you go… I hope you guys got to know me a little better 🙂

4 thoughts on “First meme of the year… 50 Questions About Anime and Me…

  1. I really enjoyed reading your answers partly because we have the same tastes (Ooops- I said it again). It’s amazing to find another person who enjoys almost the same shows that I love! Also, I got to know you better 😉

    That reminds me, I really need to check out Chihayafuru and Bokura Ga Ita

    • yes. we do have a lot and in common. when i read your 50 questions, i realized it as well.

      and do check chihayafuru… it’s fun. and though bokura ga ita is good (well, at least for me), you might not like the phasing and the ending…

Leave a Reply

